×

This page really is better in the app.

Partner City

Leduc

At Alberta's Crossroads


Since time immemorial, the land around the modern day city of Leduc was occupied by Indigenous peoples, specifically the Blackfoot and Stoney, who followed the bison that were one of the prairie's most valuable resources. As European fur traders and settlers began to push west into modern-day Alberta, Cree and Metis peoples moved into the area as well. Today, Leduc is part of Treaty 6 territory, an agreement which was signed between the crown and the Nehiyawak (Cree), Dene Suliné (Ojibwe), Nakota Sioux (Sometimes called Assiniboine), although other nations signed later on. The settler community of Leduc began with it's first settler, Robert Telford, who established the settlement in 1899. Telford served as Leduc's as its first postmaster, first general merchant and first justice of the peace, and the fledgling community was initially known as Telford. He also helped other settlers in the area find land and get established. The name Leduc was chosen by a settler who was struggling to name the telegraph office he was establishing. Allegedly, he decided to name the station after the first person to come through the door. That person happened to be Father Hippolyte Leduc, a priest who had been in the area since 1867. Later, in 1891, when Edgar Dewdney, the Lt. Governor of the North-West Territories was looking for a name to call the village, Leduc was chosen, since the telegraph station already bore the name. Leduc remained a sleepy agricultural town until 1947 when oil was discovered and the No. 1 oil well was drilled. The oil industry in Alberta spurned Leduc's development as the region began to boom. This discovery swiftly changed the course of Alberta's economy as oil and gas came to dominate the province's industry.

These photos and tours are possible through the generous support of our partners.

Walking Tours

Explore 

Leduc


Then and Now Photos

Early Main Street


Early Main Street Early Main Street
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

1899 & Now

This early view of Main Street shows several wooden buildings with one under construction on the left side. A wagon is visible in the foreground.

The Postmistress


The Postmistress The Postmistress
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1900s & Now

The Postmistress and her assistant stand on the board walk in front of Leduc's post office. The man in the buggy is Mr Howard.

The Hotel Disaster


The Hotel Disaster The Hotel Disaster
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

1907 & Now

The brick building on the right was once the Sutherland Block, before being converted into the Leduc Hotel. This hotel has been called the site of Leduc's worst disaster when an explosion in 1950 killed 10 people and hospitalized several others. The authorities believed the explosion was caused by a gas leak in the basement. Luckily, the explosion occurred only minutes before the hotel beverage room opened so there were only a few people at the establishment when disaster struck.

Telford Lake


Telford Lake Telford Lake
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1900s & Now

A few boaters take advantage of the still day and go for a paddle on Telford Lake.

Pulling out of the Station


Pulling out of the Station Pulling out of the Station
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1900s & Now

This photo shows a train leaving the Leduc train depot passing by the grain elevators. Several people wait on either side of the tracks waiting for the train to pass.

The Anderson Block


The Anderson Block The Anderson Block
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1910s & Now

A.M. Anderson built this building in 1906 to house his hardware store. The sandstone facade is built in a Romanesque style with a large glass storefront. The building continued as different hardware stores over the years. Since its construction, many of the stunning architectural aspects of the building have been removed or changed. The stone crown and cornice were removed, the glass storefront was replaced and the stone façade has been covered with painted metal panels.

Immigration Hall


Immigration Hall Immigration Hall
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1910s & Now

This building was built in 1903, and was originally used as an immigration hall. Later the building was converted into a restaurant, bakery and rooming house.

Multipurpose Building


Multipurpose Building Multipurpose Building
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1910s & Now

The Leduc town hall, which also housed the fire station. It was originally located on Main Street, but the building moved to Railway Ave in 1910, just north of Bank of Montreal.

People at the Leland


People at the Leland People at the Leland
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1910s & Now

Men and women stand outside the Leland Hotel.

Shoe Store


Shoe Store Shoe Store
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1910s & Now

This photo shows the Robert Dittrich shoe store on what is now 48th street.

Postcard Main


Postcard Main Postcard Main
Loading...

Glenbow Archives NA-1644-92 On This Spot

1920 & Now

A postcard view of Main Street in 1920. Wagons and cars share the road in this photo.

New Train Station


New Train Station New Train Station
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1915 - 1930 & Now

A passenger train at the new station, after the old one burned down.

Roads and Trains and Planes, Oh my!


Roads and Trains and Planes, Oh my! Roads and Trains and Planes, Oh my!
Loading...

Glenbow Archives NA-1644-93 On This Spot

ca. 1921 & Now

This unique photo was snapped at just the perfect moment to capture three major forms of transportation in motion at the same time. Two planes fly over train tracks as a train chugs past the grain elevators, while a car waits at the tracks for its chance to cross.

Safeway


Safeway Safeway
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

1930 & Now

A view of the storefront display at the Safeway Grocery store.

Construction


Construction Construction
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1940s - 1950s & Now

Workers perform construction on Main Street.

Legion Parade


Legion Parade Legion Parade
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1950s & Now

Men and women march in a Legion parade on Main Street celebrating the opening of the new Legion building. In this photo they are passing the Waldorf Hotel.

The New Waldorf Hotel


The New Waldorf Hotel The New Waldorf Hotel
Loading...

Glenbow Archive PD-313-134 On This Spot

ca. 1950s & Now

This photo captures the new building for the Waldorf Hotel. It was rebuilt after a fire completely gutted the previous building.

Rising Smoke


Rising Smoke Rising Smoke
Loading...

City of Leduc Photo Collection On This Spot

ca. 1950s & Now

This photo looks west down 50th Avenue towards a dark cloud of smoke rising from an oil field. When drillers struck oil at Leduc No. 1 in 1947, it changed the face of the sleepy farming community forever and the population began to boom.


Explore

Museums

Top