1907: Construction on the railway trestle that dominates views of Parry Sound.
This is a preview of some of the 100 then and now photos of Parry Sound available now in the On This Spot App.
Use the app to experience Parry Sound's history in an exciting new way with four historical walking tours.
Download the On This Spot App Now
1907: Another view of bridge construction.
1936: A view of Parry Sound taken from the tower on Tower Hill, featuring the railway trestle at centre.
Looking back from the Town Dock towards Parry Sound. A pile of coal has been offloaded for the Beatty Store.
1927: First Nations children selling crafts to tourists arriving at the Town Wharf.
The pleasure boat Emma has sunk at her moorings in Parry Sound's harbour.
The steamer Majestic moored at the Town Dock.
1859: The Beatty Grocery store, the original heart of Parry Sound, seen shortly after the town's establishment.
A family poses for a photo in front of what is now the Bayside Inn.
Boys mill about on James and Mary Street. The fire hall can be seen in the background.
1907: A crowd assembles outside the fire hall during a public demonstration.
The First Baptist Church on James Street survives today.
1899: Looking north up James Street from Seguin.
1920s: Looking south on James Street.
Ships moored at the old smelter dock.
1909: A view from Tower Hill of the lumberyards that once dominated Parry Sound's harbour.
This is a preview of some of the 100z then and now photos of Parry Sound available now in the On This Spot App.
Download the free app Now
On This Spot Parry Sound is possible through the generous support of these organizations: